NaNoWriMo 2011, bitches!!

writing

Dear friends,

The time has come again. The air is crisp, the leaves are falling. Frankly, it’s fucking lovely outside.

But, like every November, I will not experience a bit of that. Yes, folks, for the third year in a row, I will be participating in National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo)- and I want you to join me.

Fifty thousand words in thirty days might seem like an impossibility, but I assure you it isn’t. It’s a life-changing experience. It’s frustrating as hell. But I count it among the greatest things humans have devised.

Why should you do it?

Simple. You’re not doing anything else. It doesn’t cost anything. You’ll probably meet someone really attractive who is willing to have babies with you at a local write in. In large quantities, books can be traded for cocaine. Even if your novel is total shit, people will respect you just for having done it. For an entire month, your ridiculous scotch habit is justified.

Last year, I wrote a little book called Clownhunter. It was about killing clowns. The year before that, I wrote a book called The Egg Said Nothing (which you haven’t bought yet, btw). It was about a guy who lays an egg. You don’t have to be serious. You don’t have to write great literature. You’ve just got to write. And you can do it.

I’ve seen your life. You’ve got nothing to lose.

You in?

18 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo 2011, bitches!!

  1. I’m doing my first Nano, and so far its not going as well as I hoped. I’m not expecting a The Egg Said Nothing or anything, but we’ll see how this thing goes. Where is this fabled Clownhunter at?

    1. Nano is hard. Don’t let anyone fool you. Just keep at it. The Egg sucked. Clownhunter sucked. The one I’m writing now sucks. But you’ll be so satisfied with yourself when you’re done. You won’t have a finished novel, but you’ll have the makings of one. And, if you decide it’s complete shit and never want to deal with it again, you don’t have to. But you’ll know you are capable of writing at length- which will make it easier to try again.

      Clownhunter is presently collecting dust on my hard drive. I’m trying to decide whether or not I want to do anything with it. I’ll send you an e-copy if you’re interested.

      1. I’m just plowing ahead with my NovNovel…I guess the secret for me is to not think too hard about what I’ve already written – of course, it has to make sense in context. It might wind up being something that I can’t make anything out of, but at least it’s a good exercise.

        And I’m still interested in Clownhunter. So that makes 2 so far. 🙂

      2. What’s your NaNo name? We must be writing buddies!

        That philosophy is what got me through The Egg. I just wrote a stupid story and got into it by the end. The beginning required no real thought, which made the process much easier.

        I’ll add you to the Clownhunter list. Do you do e-books? Any particular format?

      3. I’m “chucklebutt.” I’m not using the site quite as much as I’m supposed to – it was down when I was getting started and I’m kinda doing this at work. 🙂 But I need to go on tonight and update my word count – I’m quite a bit farther along than I was a week ago.

        I’ve been ignoring my own advice and trying to write convincing dialogue since I can’t just move on without anything where the conversation would be. Maybe I should just type up the gist what needs to be said and go back later.

        And I use epubs – but mobi is okay as well.

  2. I’m enjoying doing the nano thing, and it is really helping me to write more often, but I’ll be surprised if I make the word count. I love my story, and trying to make the count I feel like I’m putting things in I normally wouldn’t and it’s cool. It just seems like every time I sit down at the computer my oldest daughter wants me to pick her up. I guess I’m going to write this novel around her, haha.
    If you want to send me a e-copy of your Clownhunter I’d read it, I kinda like reading stuff. I’m mcvaughn on Nanowrimo if anybody needs a writing buddy.

    1. I just added you as a buddy. If you love your story, make time for it. I totally identify with the daughter thing. All of my writing happens while my daughter’s asleep. There’s just no other time to do it. My wife is kind enough to give me the necessary space in November. but it’s hard. When I did it the first year, my daughter was one month old. She had colic and cried pretty much nonstop. I’d rock her as I pecked out my novel one key at a time. By the end, it was so worth it because it gave the writing process such an interesting back story. It’s easy for singe folks to write books. But it’s us dads who are the real NaNo badasses. 🙂

      E-book format preference?

      1. E-pub or mobi is fine with me, or pdf, I can work with just about anything. My wife is really supportive of my writing, which is awesome. But by the time I get home from work my kids are done napping and go to bed when we do, so I just try to work around everybody. Whether I make the word count by the end of the month or not I’m going to finish out this novel, I’m pretty excited about what it could be.
        Wjchucklebutt I’m kind of doing what your talking about, putting words down and trying not to think too much about it, but in the back of my mind I keep thinking of what Ill need to go back and fix.

      2. Well, that’s awesome. Keep with it. I completely lose track of my work if I don’t have a strict schedule. NaNo is one of the best things that ever happened to me. Writing with kids is fucking hard, dude. Keep fighting the good fight.

  3. Count me in for a copy of Clownhunter. I didn’t know until now about the NaNaWriMo. So maybe next season I’ll give it a go. Until then I’m still pecking away at my current project. I love the inspiration I get from here.

Leave a Reply

