Happy Birthday, Stephen King!

Uncategorized

I’ll be honest. I’ve never cared for his books. But I do adore some of the films based on them. In honor of the big guy’s birthday, I’m throwing down my top ten favorite films based on his work.

10. The Running Man

My ten-year-old self would never talk to me again if I failed to include this schlocky bit of awesome. Schwarzenegger fighting for his life against trained WWF-style television killers. So much ridiculous in so little time.


9. 1408

One of the few Stephen King movies I paid money to see without getting angry. Plenty of good scares and plenty of John Cusack. Strong haunted house flick.

8. Needful Things

I haven’t watched this since I was a kid, but I remember it being awesome. I have no interest in watching it again, so it must not be that awesome.

7. Cat’s Eye

I don’t care for two of the three stoyrlines in this one. Smokers, Inc. is kind of dull and The Ledge was, well, dull, too. But General? That is the shit. The little wall troll scared the living hell out of my younger brother when we were kids. Great stuff.

6. The Shining

Well, duh.

5. Misery

The hobbling scene is the best thing since velcro shoes.

4. Secret Window

The ending is kind of cheesy, but I do appreciate allegations of plagiarism. I think I like this one so much because Mort Rainey’s house is kind of amazing.

3. Pet Semetary

Scared the bejeezus out of me when I was little. This is probably the most thought-provoking King film I’ve ever seen. Would you? I think I would.

2. Children of the Corn

He Who Walks Behind the Rows and his band of murderous children are creepy as all hell. This is one of those movies my parents should not have let me watch as a toddler.

1. Sometimes They Come Back

I love the ghost story and the totally unfair karmic redemption. This movie has always made me uncomfortable and a bit queasy. Just the idea that we could possibly be responsible for our actions as children is almost too much. Absolutely adore this movie.

There are mine. What are yours? And if you say The Mist, I will beat you within an inch of your life.

Leave a Reply

