October 1: Shaun of the Dead

movie reviews

My first viewing of Shaun of the Dead was almost accidental. I’d heard of it at some point in the months preceding its theatrical release, but didn’t really know what it was about (other than the obvious). I promptly forgot about it.

Forgot about it, that is, until one day when I was headed into the local mall with a purpose. Of course, I have no idea what that purpose was, as I was immediately derailed by Shaun of the Dead showing up on the cheap theater’s marquee. I made a beeline for the ticket booth and purchased a seat for a showing just minutes away. I cannot explain the sudden overwhelming desire to see the film at that moment, but I’m very glad I abandoned my shopping trip.

If memory serves, I was the only person in the theater (over the next month, you’ll likely notice this pattern). As I watched, I was completely enchanted. The gore, the camp, the humor- it had everything. The film was as close to perfection as I’d ever seen.

Since that day, I’ve seen Shaun of the Dead countless times. Even if you’re in the same boat, I think you should still pop it in the player tonight. It’s the perfect introduction to that mingling of fun and fear that makes the Halloween season so enjoyable.

Leave a Reply

