October 16: Children of the Corn

movie reviews

When I looked through this list, I noticed fairly quickly that I’d neglected to include any Stephen King movies. I knew I had to include at least one. The films based on his books are typically solid. They’re good middle-of-the-night attractions.

I’m going with Children of the Corn because of the delightful fall theme. Corn, scythes, maimings- it’s got everything you could want.

And another sweet childhood reminiscence: I can remember the first time I saw this movie. I was maybe seven or eight. I had no idea of what to expect. It seemed really boring to me. All of these people sitting and talking in a diner. Being boring. And then the kids filed in, pulled out knives, hacked the adults to death, and blew my fucking mind. It was terrifying. I think it may have been the very first time I experienced shock.

David over at Obscene Chewing included this one in his list, too.

Leave a Reply

